Weather Forecast

Nick Lopez returned shot during Thursday's Mid-State Conference boys tennis tournament at the Depot Courts. Lopez teamed with Jeff Dickinson to win the title at No. 2 doubles.

Dickinson, Lopez claim conference doubles title

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Park Rapids,Minnesota 56470
Park Rapids Enterprise
Dickinson, Lopez claim conference doubles title
Park Rapids Minnesota PO Box 111 56470

     Jeff Dickinson and Nick Lopez claimed the title at No. 2 doubles in leading the Park Rapids boys tennis team at Thursday’s Mid-State Conference tournament at the Depot Courts.


     Chris Shaw and Calvin Bateman finished second at No. 1 doubles while Jaden Olson and Jackson Kimball earned runner-up honors at No. 3 doubles as the Panthers finished fourth with 14 points.

     Detroit Lakes won the conference title with 23 points.

Team scores: Detroit Lakes 23, Long Prairie-Grey Eagle 17, Wadena-Deer Creek/Perham 16, Park Rapids 14.

Individual results

No. 1 singles: Mike Paavola, WDCP, over Josh Johnson, PR, 6-2, 6-1; Isaac Fondrick, DL, over Lane Larson, LPGE, 6-3, 7-5; Paavola over Fondrick (title); Larson over Johnson 6-1, 6-0 (third).

No. 2 singles: Trevor Bergmann, LPGE, over Iain Wallace, PR, 6-1, 6-1; Alex Fondrick, DL, over Drew Larson, WDC/P, 6-0, 6-4; Fondrick over Bergmann 6-3, 6-0 (title); Larson over Wallace 6-0, 6-0 (third).

No. 3 singles: Mitch Welters, LPGE, over Shane Perry, WDC/P, 6-4, 6-0; Carlos Espinosa, DL, over Zach Tretbar, PR, 6-0, 6-0; Espinosa over Welters 6-1, 6-2 (title); Perry over Tretbar 6-1, 7-5 (third).

No. 4 singles: Caleb Howard, DL, over Tristan Hendrickson, PR, 6-2, 6-2; Ryan Welters, LPGE, over Austin Andreen, WDC/P, 6-1, 6-2; Howard over Welters 6-4, 6-4 (title); Andreen over Hendrickson 6-1, 6-1 (third).

No. 1 doubles: Travis Bergmann/Paul Chan, LPGE, over Christian Hinckley/Barney Busa, WDC/P, 6-0, 6-0; Chris Shaw/Calvin Bateman, PR, over Chandler Hanks/Austin Nelson, DL, 6-2, 6-2; Bergmann/Chan over Shaw/Bateman 6-1, 6-3 (title); Hanks/Nelson over Hinckley/Busa 6-3, 6-1 (third).

No. 2 doubles: Jeff Dickinson/Nick Lopez, PR, over Valtteri Numenin/Edgar Cabriza, LPGE, 6-0, 6-0; Mike Botzet/Kris Hanson, WDC/P, over Brady Crawford/Dylan Bienseth, DL, 6-2, 6-3; Dickinson/Lopez over Botzet/Hanson (title); Crawford/Bienseth over Numenin/Cabriza (third).

No. 3 doubles: Jaden Olson/Jackson Kimball, PR, over Tyler Wieser-Matthews/Fikri Rahmet, WDC/P, 4-6, 6-1, 10-6; Luke Eggebraaten/Colton Friesen, DL, over Dan Backmeier/Nic Abraham, LPGE, 6-3, 6-0; Eggebraaten/Friesen over Olson/Kimball (title); Wieser-Matthews/Rahmet over Backmeier/Abraham 0-6, 6-3, 10-6 (third).